SMILING CARCASS'S TWO-PENNETH

Commenting on social, political, economic and general topics

Spare a thought-

with 2 comments

 

During you Christmas celebrations, spare a thought for those less fortunate.

As I arrived home from work at 6:30 this morning, bitterly cold and glad I could afford the heating to have been on and walk into a warm house, I wondered how the homeless cope with this weather; where do they go at night?

I the thought of the old, the lonely who may also be cold, albeit with a roof over their heads and the lonely who can keep warm and eat well, but are nevertheless lonely at this convivial time of year.

I thought of the children who will have little to wake to on Christmas morning and the taunts of their peers, not yet old enough to understand that poverty is not a crime, save for it is a crime against the poor in a wealthy country, nor a lifestyle choice.

I thought too of their parents, who I know, as I did will feel inadequate and unworthy because they couldn’t give more. To those parents I say the most important thing you can give your children at any time of year is love and understanding.

So, as you begin your celebrations, sit down to your Christmas dinner with your wine and beer, put your feet up in front of your 40 inch widescreen telly in the warmth of your house and your companionship, spare a thought, and if you can a few bob for those who aren’t so lucky.

Written by Smiling Carcass

11/12/2014 at 10:02 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I won’t be donating to charity but I will be buying more sleeping bags, more blankets and more socks and boots and giving them to the homeless directly. I will also be filling a trolley or two for the food banks. I’m really grateful that I have a home, that I have heating and that I can use it.
    I’m still lonely though, even if I have my husband here as I have no-one else to talk to and see in person.

    jaypot2012

    11/12/2014 at 6:38 PM

  2. Reblogged this on Jay's Journal and commented:
    Please think of the homeless, the elderly and the vulnerable this winter.

    jaypot2012

    11/12/2014 at 6:39 PM


Leave a Reply

