SMILING CARCASS'S TWO-PENNETH

Commenting on social, political, economic and general topics

The Welfare State

with 5 comments

Now, way back in the 60’s I can only remember my dad being ill. I have vague memories of sitting on the back step, him coming home with a packet of sweets- Werther’s toffees, as I remember.

Beyond that, I remember the struggle he and mom had to look after us; we never had the things the other kids had, but we had love. Some poor kids never had that, despite the comparative wealth of their parents.

Now I have two kids, both in their 20s. My daughter is a manager at MacDonald’s, my son a dry wall and ceiling fixer.

Both doing well, me a caster, too earning good money.

Without the welfare state, my dad may well have not survived; without the welfare state, I may not have survived and it stands to reason, my two tax paying kids may not have even existed.

Do not let the welfare state die- without it we all die- or may not even exist.

Written by Smiling Carcass

08/11/2014 at 9:37 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reblogged this on sdbast.

    sdbast

    08/11/2014 at 10:01 PM

  2. […] Now, way back in the 60’s I can only remember my dad being ill. I have vague memories of sitting on the back step, him coming home with a packet of sweets- Werther’s toffees, as I remember. Beyond …  […]

  3. My father was in the same boat – however, he was an alcoholic so we suffered due to that – he was in and out of hospital with various things due to the drink and not once was he looked upon as a waster. He could get job after job and in-between times he would sign on the dole.
    Yes we suffered as a family and didn’t have the clothes, the shoes etc.
    My two boys worked like mad before leaving school although the eldest is now disabled and registered blind – a brain bleed whilst having an operation recently 😦 He worked really hard up to then and has yet to take up or claim for anything even though he has 3 children.
    My youngest works for RBS in a middle management position.
    I am extremely proud of them both, working or not, but I know that they have paid taxes for years – they are both in their mid thirties now.

    jaypot2012

    09/11/2014 at 9:55 AM

  4. Reblogged this on Jay's Journal and commented:
    My father was in the same boat – however, he was an alcoholic so we suffered due to that – he was in and out of hospital with various things due to the drink and not once was he looked upon as a waster. He could get job after job and in-between times he would sign on the dole.
    Yes we suffered as a family and didn’t have the clothes, the shoes etc.
    My two boys worked like mad before leaving school although the eldest is now disabled and registered blind – a brain bleed whilst having an operation recently 😦 He worked really hard up to then and has yet to take up or claim for anything even though he has 3 children.
    My youngest works for RBS in a middle management position.
    I am extremely proud of them both, working or not, but I know that they have paid taxes for years – they are both in their mid thirties now.

    jaypot2012

    09/11/2014 at 9:56 AM

  5. The welfare state comes with a price. My father came back from the war in 1945 to no job prospects. Eventually he found work but we had it tough during those post war years. He had driven a lorry in the army but government restrictions on the transport industry ensured a shortage of drivers. Health care was dreadful, district nurses turning up at all times and ridiculing my mom for not following their petty rules, doctors treating patients like criminals, and hospitals run like prisons. Several Victorian workhouses were commissioned by the NHS for the elderly, the incurable, and very low classes, and maintained the work house traditions. And how we all had to be bloody grateful to the bureaucrats, local Labour Councillors (who we always voted for) , the scheming and skulduggery associated with allocation of council houses, and let us not forget the rationing and the black market that came with the welfare state. When I hear that stupid wealthy Ken Loach praising the formation of the welfare state I laugh. Thank God Left Unity will never have the power to return to those days.
    Things have improved on the material front, but whether that is due to the welfare state is questionable. But most serious is the unwillingness to question it because one will be accused of supporting privatization. A joke, because it has long been privatized..

    Dr Llareggub

    09/11/2014 at 12:02 PM


Leave a Reply

