SMILING CARCASS'S TWO-PENNETH

Commenting on social, political, economic and general topics

with 7 comments

Today I have been discussing politics in the pub with an old pal, who could be described as fairly right-wing.

EDL-style, anti-foreigner; I spent three or four hours with him, and while I have known him for years, I think he was really coming around, realising the way to a better world is not through marginalising or enslaving or killing those we do not like, but perhaps try to understand them.

He always worked, earned good money in the building trade, but I think he is starting to realise, now he is out of work how government policy, despite their rhetoric, is anti-us, anti worker and pro low wage and low benefits.

I explained how low wages, low benefits put him out of work; for sure, if people cannot buy their house, who needs him to build them; if councils are not building houses to rent, why would there be work for him?

I have, though my small efforts at least made somebody THINK!

Why I carry on blogging, hoping to change at least one person’s opinion.

Written by Smiling Carcass

23/02/2014 at 4:58 PM

Posted in government

Tagged with ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WOW, ME TOO. thanks for your tweet you made my day. please see my profile for SOS messages from British people

    prometheus1938

    23/02/2014 at 5:07 PM

  2. Good to hear. I wouldn’t wish all such to find themselves out of work but it would make them think or re-think!

    First Night Design

    23/02/2014 at 5:41 PM

  3. That’s one who will hopefully spread it to another one and so on…
    Trying to make people believe that the low paid and the low benefits make it worse for people is like talking to a wall most of the time!

    jaypot2012

    23/02/2014 at 6:18 PM

    • My insignificant efforts may have changed one mind- made a small difference and if I die tomorrow, knowing that will make it all worth it.

      Smiling Carcass

      23/02/2014 at 11:36 PM

  4. Reblogged this on Jay's Journal and commented:
    One down, how many more to educate?

    jaypot2012

    23/02/2014 at 6:19 PM

  5. Keep on keeping on – All best – In Unity x

    jaynel62

    24/02/2014 at 6:41 AM


Leave a Reply

