SMILING CARCASS'S TWO-PENNETH

Commenting on social, political, economic and general topics

A New Year Message from a Lucky Man

leave a comment »

This may seem a strange choice for a New Year song, but for those that know the words, I think you’ll understand. To those that don’t know the words, please listen and I think you’ll get it.

 

Well, 2014 is almost upon us and it seems only right to have a little say about the year past and the year to come.

 

The year past has, for me been very good having secured, for the first time in over 20 years reasonably well paid employment; this isn’t because of government policy; it is pure effort on my part, a touch of good fortune and the munificence of the man who interviewed me. This is the first Christmas for those 20 plus years I have had all the bills paid and a little spare cash in my pocket.

 

Yet, while grateful for my good fortune, paradoxically, I ask why should we be grateful, feel it is good fortune just to have a good job and a bit of spare cash? Surely it is something to which we all aspire, to which we are all entitled, and for those unable to work or unable to work full time, be it through circumstance or government policy, we should be happy to pay our taxes to support them- I am.

 

This administration, for that is what they are, unelected administrators would have us all doffing our caps, appreciative for our lot, grateful just for food on the table while they see their huge wealth and position as their god given right.

 

To that huge majority who have not shared my good fortune, for those for whom 2013 has seen them plunged ever deeper into poverty and despair, my heart goes out to you, and I genuinely wish I could have sent you all a share of my fortuity.

 

And 2014, what will that offer? I hope, on a personal level that my good fortune continues and somewhat doubtfully, hope that we can all see an improvement in our situation.

 

However, realistically, I see more deprivation, more poverty, more unnecessary deaths; and I do not feel immune from the possibility that 2014 will be a year of disappointment for me too. Job security is a thing of the past and I hope a thing of the future; it is not a thing of the present.

 

And yet, I feel compelled to say to you all, have as happy and prosperous a new year as your circumstances allow and with the will and the fortitude to carry us through, we shall overcome.

 

 

 

Written by Smiling Carcass

31/12/2013 at 12:27 PM

Leave a Reply

