SMILING CARCASS'S TWO-PENNETH

Commenting on social, political, economic and general topics

What a Wonderful World

with 8 comments

This afternoon I went into town. I met an old pal I hadn’t seen for a good while- several years. He had always, when we drank together, been a hard worker. A generous guy, who wouldn’t see you without a pint if your circumstances were less fortunate than his own.

We went for a pint- that turned into several! – and he told me his story. He now has sciatica. He is reliant on benefits, though looking for the hard for work his disability no longer allows him to do. He tried to work, shovelling shit (apologies for the language- no I do not apologise. He shovelled YOUR shit) at a local recycling plant.

It transpired that while I was in town enjoying the Xmas to come celebrations, he was in town because he had no heating, no light, no food; NOTHING. No reason to stay home, no reason to be out. No reason to be anywhere; a non-person in our wonderful capitalist society.

And I think to myself, what wonderful world.

Written by Smiling Carcass

30/11/2013 at 9:14 PM

Posted in Poverty, Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reblogged this on Vox Political.

    Mike Sivier

    30/11/2013 at 9:29 PM

  2. I have a similiar story to tell 37% of my life was spent in a toxic stress environment, as I endured 14 years of physical, emotional and mental abuse in two seven year parcels. The first was abuse from a dysfunctional system that being education, with a final battle to the death at the age of 12 when a major personality change happened, the scared submissive kid died and a resistance fighter was born..That was because dyslexia was unrecognised and labelled an obstinate and lazy attitude that needed beating out of me.

    .the 2nd was seven years of abuse at the hands of a corrupt system, railway privatisation where the Government hamstrung the Health and safety executive, creating a situation where bullying management had catre blanche to corrupt all laws, regulations and health and safety obligations, this I endured for 7 years of defending my position, when another final battle occurred and a second death like affect was the result, I changed from a resistance fighter into a mental wreck. The situation had cost me my mental health..it had also cost others their lives……

    Steven Goodman

    30/11/2013 at 9:44 PM

  3. Can you contact me please? I’ll explain why in email. Ta.

    Darren

    30/11/2013 at 10:34 PM

    • Darren, I am loathe to publicise my personal details, though a mutual friend has been in touch and told me to expect your request. In light of this, I have set up a new email and you can contact me at Ulyanov@ymail.com.

      Smiling Carcass

      30/11/2013 at 11:31 PM

  4. Ever read The Ragged Trousered Philanthropist?

    Ulysse

    30/11/2013 at 11:52 PM

  5. One thing that I have discovered in life, is that anyone can find themselves virtually destitute, for no apparently good reason. Divorce, Redundancy, Illness, and Economic Depression, can all have impact, on anybody. We can never just think; ‘that will not happen to me’.
    Very poignant story SC. Regards, Pete.

    beetleypete

    01/12/2013 at 1:14 PM

    • We are all a wage packet or two, a company director’s whim or a foreman’s dislike away from destitution. This is why we must maintain a decent welfare state so these situations are cushioned when they arise; we need full employment so these whims, perversions of fate are inconsequential or even none existent. We all know full employment means employees are difficult to replace, and thus we are afforded protection.

      Smiling Carcass

      02/12/2013 at 2:37 AM

  6. All these tragic stories are needed on The People’s Voice. Please don’t suffer alone or give up. We can change this heartlessness if we all take on the system not by violence but by exposing the real stories.
    Take care.

    amnesiaclinic

    01/12/2013 at 9:59 PM


Leave a Reply

