SMILING CARCASS'S TWO-PENNETH

Commenting on social, political, economic and general topics

Not titled ‘1671’

with 23 comments

I earned, after tax £324 this week. A goodly sum, you might think; especially those reliant on £71 a week to survive. And yet, this Saturday night, I am, after, I admit a few small luxuries stony broke.

Oh yes, the bills, at least for this month are paid. There’s food in the freezer and I have a drink to enjoy at home.

If this is the limit (and it is!) of my pleasures, my reward for a 48 hour hard working week, how much harder is it for the unfortunate folk who rely on benefits, how much harder now when they are told they must do more, or lose their entitlement because ‘the country cannot afford it’?

Well, Mr. Politician, I AM THE COUNTRY! You can take more from me in taxation if that is the cost. I will share my good fortune with those less fortunate if that is what is needed. What I resent is then rich becoming richer, the poor becoming poorer and the hard workers paying for it while the wealthy become wealthier by buying and selling my labour and/or the goods I produce.

Written by Smiling Carcass

19/10/2013 at 11:38 PM

Posted in Poverty

Tagged with , , , ,

23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reblogged this on Vox Political and commented:
    Laudable comments by Smiling Carcass. But why is it titled ‘1671’?

    Mike Sivier

    19/10/2013 at 11:47 PM

    • I have no idea! Ask WordPress. But, thanks, Mike it is now titled ‘Not titled ’1671′’./

      Smiling Carcass

      20/10/2013 at 12:19 AM

  2. well said. wish others felt the same as you. the world would be a much better place…………come to think of it. most did. or at least never gave a thought to where the cash came from that was paid out in benefits.only the truly mean ever gave it a thought….until this coalition came along with its nasty vindictive evil policies.

    hugosmum70

    20/10/2013 at 12:19 AM

    • Thank you, hugosmum70. There are those of us who remember, those who have yet to learn, but ikn the final analysis, THERE’S MORE OF US THAN THEM!

      Smiling Carcass

      20/10/2013 at 12:32 AM

      • sure is. (or so they keep telling us..cos we cost em more in pensions apparently.lol) am wondering how many will we lose this winter though which im told is going to be a very harsh one, worst one in 100 years i read, with fuel hikes, and food hikes. etc. and so many worried to death to put heating on etc. they say there will be lots of snow and power cuts too, power cuts mean no gas central heating too as i think electricity is needed to power the pump isnt it? i have a gas fire but ill have to get someone to put it on for me and it will hav to stay on then as i cant use the switch which is at the base of the fire on the side..too low down for me to get to it and no adaptation handle to fit it apparently.
        Ive invested in 2 of those battery operated touch wall lights, a battery operated table lamp. fingerless gloves, long thick stockings, leggings, trying to find thicker skirts/trousers etc.,got a stock of candles in, (must get a couple more lighters too,. not a smoker so dont have them in all the time.) thinking of what food i can stock that wont need heating or freezing.(ok im going overboard. but im determined im doing all i can to stay as healthy,fed , warm and occupied as i can if this should happen). lol have i forgotten anything? maybe a bread maker and bread flower etc to use if run out of bread (to be used in between power cuts ) when power is restored. another flask too. so i can fill with hot soup again,in between cuts…………. my minds racing with ideas here.lol.

        hugosmum70

        21/10/2013 at 3:00 AM

      • At least you’re thinking ahead; but on the subject of power cuts. In the 21st century we cannot maintain power? Isn’t this ridiculous!

        For me it can mean only one of two things- or a combination of both. It is scare mongering to make us afraid and accept ridiculously high price increases and/or privatisation has resulted, as some predicted in a lack of investment resulting in under capacity.

        Smiling Carcass

        21/10/2013 at 4:54 AM

      • well whichever it is smiling carcass, ill be as ready as i can be, even if i have to go into my overdraft facility and visa account to do it. if it doesnt happen it will be a bonus and think of all that lovely bread i’ll be able to make with very little effort on my part.(energy not being my strongest point these days).

        hugosmum70

        21/10/2013 at 11:45 PM

  3. Familiar in this house. A few days left to payday and scraping..
    What’s the point of all that education, work and experience?

    Derek Gibson

    20/10/2013 at 1:10 AM

    • Derek, I only just approved your comment; due to computer issues I fell behind and had 5,000 emails to catch up with. But now I’d like to reply and say, don’t give up. It’s what they want us to do. Education and experience are, for me at least their own rewards.

      Smiling Carcass

      01/01/2014 at 12:18 AM

  4. […] Not titled ’1671′. […]

  5. Thank you! If there were more people in politics who were like you, this country would be a better place. I truly cannot understand how we are letting it come to this and that saddens me so much.
    I am one of the unfortunate that is on ESA in the support group, and even living on the amount I get is such a struggle. I have cut back as much as I can and anymore cuts will see me having to eat every other day, with the cheap cuppa soups, or oxo drinks to keep me going 😦 I don’t deserve this, my husband doesn’t deserve this as he to is disabled, and the people of this country don’t deserve this. What the hell have we done to deserve this?
    I’m a child of the 60’s and my mother and father struggled to feed all 6 children as well as themselves, but we ate better then than we do now and were thankful for it. What has happened to this country is a disgrace, this government are responsible for many, many deaths due to war against the poor. It’s a damned disgrace that in 2013 we are further back than the great depression and are quickly going even further back to the 19th century.
    I shake my head in despair, and when I do go out I see that same look that I have on nearly everyone I see. I never feel happy and neither do millions of us. What an awful thing to see a country full of such sadness!

    jaypot2012

    20/10/2013 at 10:48 AM

    • and unfortunately we will get the same for the next 17 months that these EVIL bastards are in power. ive been hoping for a knight in shining armour to come riding to our rescue, but no,people just seem to have no bottle these days. and before anybody says why dont i do it.i am nearly 70,and crippled with pain that is just going to get worse. if this had come about when i was younger and fit,then believe me,the fire in my belly hasnt died, but my body is getting there. roll on 2015,and lets hope people arent taken in by more lies off cameron. ie:the nhs is safe in our hands,which must rank as the deceit of the century.

      bob archer one angry old man.

      20/10/2013 at 4:28 PM

      • People do have the bottle, unfortunately it’s very hard to make a difference, but that doesn’t mean we’re not trying, for instance, I was one of over 300 people who stood for Parliament as independents in 2010 (I’ll be standing in 2015, as will my Mum, 10 years your senior) most of us because we want to make a difference. We spent our own time and money but the entire system is stacked against us. Other people are doing other things.

        noneoftheabove1

        21/10/2013 at 7:35 AM

    • How very sad, jaypot. But you didn’t do anything and you do not deserve to be treated like this just so a relatively few very wealthy people can increase their wealth through lower taxes. You, and I suspect at least 10s of thousands like you.

      Keep battling on; it can’t last forever and if my small contributions can change just one mind, the hours at the keyboard, sometimes weary from work will have been worth all the effort.

      Smiling Carcass

      20/10/2013 at 11:45 PM

  6. Is the 1671 a reference as to the state the government want to take us back to? The rich very rich and the poor struggling to afford a loaf of bread?

    Anthony Turtle

    20/10/2013 at 2:32 PM

  7. Reblogged this on thepositivevoice.

    thepositivevoice

    20/10/2013 at 6:43 PM

  8. Yes, well said and there are many more like us out there. Problem is that there are so many more people the other way in this country, who have become so apathetic that they don’t even vote. The same people who stay at home glued to X- Factor, soaps etc and say “What can I do about it all”? We have strength in numbers as has every other country in the world. These populations are acting and the mainstream media are not reporting this. From Brazil to Turkey and far beyond populations are rising up, more aware than ever before the plight of the common man, woman and child. We have socially bailed banks out, now they’re telling us we must endure austerity now?! Don’t vote Tory, Labour, UKIP! Vote alternatively!! Come on Britain!! Make a stand!! Occupy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. I’m with Smiling Carcass, I too have weeks when I barely earn enough to get through, but I remain supremely happy and grateful that I am able to earn and that it’s enough, well aware that there are many for whom this is not true. On the plus side for those not in my fortunate position, I’ve been there, I did get through it, keep striving, it will get better eventually and you’ll be stronger as a result.

    noneoftheabove1

    21/10/2013 at 12:28 AM

  10. Excellent post. Not everyone on benefits wants to be in that situation. I sure as hell don’t. This shit that the Tory faithful press has been spouting has made it seem like it’s a malicious, divisive, deliberate plan by the Great Unwashed to bring the country to its knees. Such execrable bollocks seems to pour forth from these fork-tongued demons and the truth is but a minor consideration that they, sometimes, flirt outrageously with. In what twisted parallel tory universe can ANYONE actually live on £71 a week?

    As a single, white male, living alone, £71 per week is what I receive. However, after deductions at source for Gas, Electric, Water, Council Tax, that comes down to around £20 a week to feed, clothe, clean myself, as well as pay for anything that comes up. I used to earn more than that an hour.

    The jobs available in my area are things I have no experience in or, aptitude for. My CV shows someone who has held senior positions here and abroad. For low paid, minimum wage jobs, I’m just a potential trouble maker who will ask questions and complicate matters. That’s trouble employers don’t want. What they fail to see is that I have experience that could benefit them, improve their business but, no, I’m too senior, too experienced and, my favourite, a flight risk who will leave when something better comes along. Well, of course. Make me want to stay with you and I won’t leave… Of course, the JCP staff hate me. They don’t appreciate someone who can argue lucidly and point out their incompetence and lack of knowledge. It’s only fair. They do their best to make me feel like worthless dolescum, I’ll make it my goal to ensure that every day they drag me in needlessly and pointlessly will be a day they hated. Do I feel bad about claiming benefits? No. In 2009 alone I paid enough tax to justify my benefits for another two years.

    If this suckers-of-Satan’s-cock-government put as much effort into stimulating the economy and creating jobs as they do in stealing pennies from the poor box, this country could actually be great, once more.

    Mark L. Potts

    21/10/2013 at 4:09 PM

  11. Can anyone tell me why i am suddenly getting emails with 18month old messages on them? (or thereabouts). Just got one from Graeme Briggs-white DATED 20/10/2013 at 10:57 PM

    hugosmum70

    27/05/2015 at 10:13 PM

    • Haven’t got a clue bud!! 🙂

      graeme briggs-white

      27/05/2015 at 11:23 PM

    • It may be, hugosmum70
      that I have been very busy, little time for t’internet and have fallen behind to over 5,000 emails in my inbox, many of which are notifications of comments on this blog that needed approval.

      Since I am currently catching up, and
      Graeme Briggs-white’scomment was only approved yesterday (sorry, Graeme!) you will receive a notification that a new comment has been posted.

      Apologies to all, but however old a comment, I rarely censor, even ones I disagree with unless they are distasteful or offensive.

      Smiling Carcass

      28/05/2015 at 8:36 AM


Leave a Reply

