SMILING CARCASS'S TWO-PENNETH

Commenting on social, political, economic and general topics

Extracts from ‘Living under the threat of welfare ‘reform”

with one comment

If I could force Conservative and Liberal Democrat MPs, politicians, and supporters to read what follows, I would. It was sent to me today in response to my article, Bedroom tax will put people on streets while homes go empty, and details exactly what the author – a fellow blogger going by the monicker Clarebelz – expects will happen to her after the bedroom tax and other so-called welfare ‘reforms’ come into effect, starting in April 2013.This is not fiction.It is what this person expects to become her reality.While you are reading it, please ask yourself: Do you want to live in a society that treats its most vulnerable like this?

“As the deadline for paying bedroom tax and council tax draws near I, along with others commenting here and elsewhere, are feeling ever more hopeless about the whole situation. I just wanted to go to bed when I came back, unable to face another day worrying about how the hell I’m going to manage when I’m hardly managing now.

“This disgusting, despicable government has stolen the last two years from me through fear. I’ve just started painting again and doing other creative things that I used to, but it’s really hard to feel inspired when you’ve had the life sucked out of you, especially when your illness leaves you with little life left to do anything.

“By the way, my care plan assessor inquired about the bedroom tax for me from someone she knows at the DWP. The assessor said that the bedroom tax hits those of working age, which I knew anyway, but – interestingly – she said that the DWP person told her that the government has informed them that, once they have dealt with housing benefit in relation to people of working age, they will then move on to apply the same sanctions to pensioners, because many larger homes belong to pensioners who won’t move.

“It’s a horrible feeling.”

Read the full post Living under the threat of welfare 'reform' by Mike Sivier.

Written by Smiling Carcass

30/10/2012 at 10:46 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sign Pat’s Petition- http://epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/20968 2 days left

    Smiling Carcass

    30/10/2012 at 10:58 PM


Leave a Reply

